Book Review

Birdie and Jude – Phyllis H Moore

Today’s review is for the bittersweet Birdie and Jude by Phyllis H Moore. My thanks go to Phyllis, and to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to be a part of this blog tour, and for providing me with a copy of the book.

BLURB:

A moving novel of loss, regret, denial, and discovery on Galveston Island, from the author of Opal’s Story and The Ember Months.

Birdie has lived to regret many of her decisions, but she doesn’t regret offering a stranger, Jude, shelter from an approaching hurricane. Their serendipitous meeting will form a bond that will change their lives forever.

In a character driven story with memories of the protests and inequalities plaguing the 1960’s, Birdie’s reached middle age and questions her life. Jude is striking out on her own, but has been derailed by a fatal accident claiming her only friend. Although their backgrounds and lived are vastly different, they recognise something in the other that forges a friendship.

As their relationship solidifies, they share glimpses of their pasts. Birdie is a product of the’60’s, an aging hippie, with a series of resentments. She had a sheltered childhood in an upper class family. Her parents longed to see her make the Texas Dip at the Mardi Gras ball. Jude, however, entered foster care as an infant. Her parents, victims of a murder/suicide, left her and her siblings orphaned and separated.

There is something about their connection that strikes Birdie as familiar. Can souls know each other in different lives? Birdie struggles with the awareness that she has had regrets and hasn’t lived an authentic life, while Judd faces an uncomfortable truth about her own.

PURCHASE LINKS:

Amazon UK

Amazon.com

REVIEW:

I don’t know about you, but I don’t tend to take in much of what is written in book dedications, especially the longer ones, because I am usually far too eager to start reading the book. That said, something about the dedication in this book caught my eye, and I am so glad that I read it. I was really touched by the author’s words, and it made me curious about what was to come.

Straight off the bat, it felt like there was more to both Birdie and Jude than met the eye. While Birdie seemed feisty and full of life, despite the struggles of old age, you could feel a darkness, a sadness, to her character. In contrast, Jude is quiet and self-conscious, a troubled soul with more than her fair share of secrets. Alongside Birdie and Jude, comes Ollie, Birdie’s faithful canine companion. I absolutely adored the fact that he comes with a fully developed, almost human character himself.

This book has the feel of a coming of age story, as both women come to terms with their pasts and learn to accept their futures. There is a beauty in the gentle friendship that develops between them as they help each other in more ways than either of them realise when they first meet.

What I expected to be a sweet, simple story of friendship touched my heart in ways that I never imagined it would.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Phyllis H. Moore wants to live life experiences more than once: doing it, writing about it, and reading about it. The atmosphere of the south draws her in and repels her. The characters are rich with dysfunction and redemption, real. She’s had two careers and two retirements. Both careers gave her inspiration for her novels.

The Sabine Series, Sabine, Billy’s Story, Josephine’s Journals, and Secrets of Dunn House, Opal’s Story, Tangled – A Southern Gothic Yarn, and The Bright Shawl, Colours of Tender Whispers, The Ember Months, Birdie & Jude, and an anthology of spooky short stories inspired by real places and events, The Bridge on Jackson Road.

In 2018, she also released a new genre for her, A Dickens of a Crime – A Meg Miller Cosy Mystery. She has authored one non-fiction book, Retirement, Now What? Phyllis has been published by Caffeinated Press in the anthology, Brewed Awakenings 2, Fifteen Tales to Jolt Your Mind Awake. She blogs on her website, http://www.phyllishmoore.com

Phyllis is a retired social worker and former owner/operator of a small bed and breakfast. She’s lived in the rural areas and cities of south Texas. She currently lives on Galveston Island with her husband, Richard.

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Facebook

Pinterest

Website

Twitter

Don’t forget to have a look at the other blogs taking part in this tour.

Guest Posts

Switching Off – Guest Post

Tissues at the ready folks, I have a real tear-jerker for you today.

BLURB:

𝗔 𝘁𝗲𝗿𝗺𝗶𝗻𝗮𝗹 𝗱𝗶𝗮𝗴𝗻𝗼𝘀𝗶𝘀. 𝗔 𝗹𝗶𝗳𝗲-𝘀𝗮𝘃𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝘀𝗮𝗰𝗿𝗶𝗳𝗶𝗰𝗲. 𝗔 𝗹𝗼𝘃𝗲 𝗹𝗲𝘁𝘁𝗲𝗿 𝘄𝗿𝗶𝘁𝘁𝗲𝗻 𝗼𝗻 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝘄𝗮𝗹𝗹𝘀 𝗼𝗳 𝗵𝗲𝗿 𝗵𝗲𝗮𝗿𝘁.

Alice Richards looked forward to watching the seeds of love she and her husband planted bloom and grow well into their old age. But her plans for the future shrivel up and die when she learns she has an inoperable brain tumour.

Determined that she won’t die in vain, she decides to become an organ donor. With a few precious months left, Alice begins documenting her fairytale romance—from their first meeting to the children they dreamed of having. She’ll pass on every detail to her heart’s next owner… along with careful instructions to send her husband reminders of her undying love. Before her time runs out, Alice must find the perfect candidate to guide her husband through unimaginable grief and hold the memory of their love in her heart.

I Give You My Heart is an emotional romantic fiction novel with an uplifting message. If you like strong-willed women, undying love stories, and honest portrayals of coping with a terminal illness, then you’ll love SarahJane Ford’s heart-warming epic.

An unmissable love story full of warmth, beauty and with a huge, beating heart. Perfect for fans of Cecilia Ahern’s ‘P.S. I Love You’ and Jojo Moyes’ ‘Me Before You’.

You can purchase I Give You My Heart on Amazon, here.

I Give You My Heart Cover

I will be sharing a review of this book later in the year, but in the meantime I am thrilled that SarahJane has taken some time out of her busy schedule to share with us how she unwinds from writing such an emotional book.

Switching off…oh how I wish I had that all figured out. Writing about such emotional subjects as there are in I Give You My Heart – terminal illness; death; losing the love of your life/best friend/daughter; organ donation; the list goes on – does settle a heaviness on your shoulders that takes some shifting.

During the writing period itself I never did fully switch off – I think that’s what drives the intensity of emotional charge in the book. It was hard on my family and friends – it’s not that I ignored their door knocks and phone calls, it’s that I didn’t even hear them. I’ve found myself true to some of those age-old writer clichés – I had to get the story out and told, there was no turning it off in my mind until it was done, it burned away. There were some periods where the story settled a little and during those times I was back to my sunshine-y self but during the deep, powerful stages of the book the people around me learned the only welcome approach was one that involved coffee or chocolate.

The whole period was very draining, though, so I did have to come up with strategies to recharge my batteries. I kept, and still keep, a lot of things up my sleeve for this. I love coffee and candles so I’ll often find peace and stillness in the time it takes to boil the kettle and strike a match – just lighting twinkling flames all around me and cradling a big mug of coffee while I give my thoughts attention gives me a ten-minute soothe fest.

I’m quite ritualistic in that I need to build a whole switch-off time plan into every day to get the best out of myself. I try and get out for a quiet, steady run most weekday mornings which sets my mood up right for the day ahead – I use it as a thought-organising session and a physical tension/angst releaser. I have a diffuser I like to set up to puff out lavender for me each evening to help me get the best night’s sleep. I’m very strict with no screens for an hour before lights out and, of course, my ultimate switch off to ease me into and out of each day is burying my nose in a book. It’s all the little things strung together that keep me sane.

In a bigger sense I love nothing more than having a complete ‘away from it all’ afternoon/day when life gets very intense – I’m an ocean addict so that’s usually what pulls me – sand, waves, seashells, surfboard if I’m feeling energetic…ah.

I’m by no means a serene goddess of calm though, I can assure you! So, if any of you readers have any tips for this over-thinking introvert please do let me know – you can reach my on my Facebook page www.facebook.com/sarahjanefordauthor/, on twitter @sjfordauthor or via the contact form on my website www.sarahjaneford.com.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

author-photo-1

SarahJane is the debut author of ‘I Give You My Heart’ which is due to be published on September 1st 2018.

SarahJane was born in Scotland but grew up in the Cheshire countryside, which is home to her. After a few years living in Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire, where she went to secondary school, she has now settled back in Cheshire in a quirky flat surrounded by trees, birds and rolling fields.

A marketing professional since finishing her formal education SarahJane is delighted to be following her writing dream. She still works part-time as a Marketing Manager, whilst furiously penning her second novel.

Harbouring an adventurous spirit, SarahJane loves to travel, be surrounded by the wilderness or be riding Cornish waves.

SarahJane loves to read (ideally by the sea!). She was raised on the greatest love stories, which is where her romantic soul comes from. She is in love with love…Mr Darcy’s brooding looks in Pride and Prejudice; Julia Roberts and Richard Gere’s arresting chemistry in Runaway Bride; the intensely emotional Titanic; going weak at the knees for Danny Zuko in Grease; Cecilia Ahern’s heartbreaking P.S. I Love You and Patrick Swayze’s mega moves in Dirty Dancing.

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Facebook

Website

Twitter

GIVEAWAY:

Win a signed hardback of I Give You My Heart with a personalised message (UK Only)

*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter link below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494128/?

Many thanks to SarahJane and to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to take part in the blog tour and for providing me with a copy of the book. Don’t forget to head over to the other stops on the tour.

I Give You My Heart Full Banner