Uncategorized

All My Lies Cover Reveal

I am delighted to be taking part in the cover reveal for Sophie Flynn’s novel, All My Lies. Before I share the cover though, here come all the important details.

BLURB:

Anna wants to escape.
She doesn’t know when her marriage to James began to feel like a trap or when he became so controlling. All she knows is that she needs to leave before it’s too late.

And she has a plan.
When Anna reconnects with her childhood sweetheart, Sam, she sees it as the answer to her problems. Finally, they’ll have a life together, like they’d always planned – the life she was meant to have.

But the lies are catching up with her . . .

On the morning of their escape, Sam goes missing. Anna knows he wouldn’t leave her, that something must have happened to him.
Her search for answers will force her to confront her past, something that she has been running from for a very long time . . .

Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Phoebe Morgan and K.L. Slater, this is a twisty, tense psychological thriller about one woman’s hunt for the truth and her ultimate fight to break free.

PURCHASE LINKS:

Amazon

Simon & Schuster

Sounds great doesn’t it! Now, here comes the cover!

All My Lies - announcement Square

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Sophie_Flynn_AuthorSophie is a Cotswolds based psychological thriller author with an MA in Creative Writing from Oxford Brookes. Her debut novel ALL MY LIES will be published by Simon & Schuster on April 23, 2021.

Alongside writing, Sophie is the Head of Marketing at Jericho Writers. After being awarded a place at Swanwick Writers’ Summer School on the TopWrite scheme for young writers in 2017, Sophie began writing short fiction. She has since had many stories published and placed in competitions with organisations such as Writing Magazine and The Cheltenham Literature Festival.

When not writing, Sophie can be mostly found on muddy walks with her husband and rescue dog or disappearing to Cornwall whenever possible.

She is represented by Kate Nash of Kate Nash Literary Agency.

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Twitter

Instagram

Website

Book Review, Uncategorized

The Invitation (Lucy’s Crypt 1) – Katie Webster

Today I am joining the blog tour for The Invitation by Katie Webster. Many thanks to Katie for providing me with a copy of the book, and to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours for inviting me to be a part of this tour.

BLURB:

On the island kingdom of Meta Emery, a young queen, Abigail, wakes in the middle of the night to a terrifying realisation; hostile wizards from the rival kingdom of Archmond have finally done what they’ve been threatening to do: bring a girl, Lucy, into this world to destroy the queen and all she has worked for.

Hundreds of miles west, in Archmond itself, a great feast unfolds in the castle to celebrate Lucy’s arrival. Soleman, one of the wizards and a co-ruler of Archmond, has spread the news to his people that Lucy is the heroine an ancient prophecy predicted; he promises that the discord throughout their world will soon be over. But his fellow ruler Ronald remains dubious that this apparently meek and troubled girl could really overthrow Abigail, or whether she is ever likely to want to.

This highly imaginative and original novel is the first in an exciting new fantasy series, ‘Lucy’s Crypt’.

PURCHASE LINKS:

Purchase Link

The Invitation Cover

REVIEW:

The Invitation marks the start of a YA fantasy series with a lot of potential. The attention to detail in the worldbuilding is fantastic, although the level of detail required to create a clear picture of the strange world that Lucy finds herself in does slow the pace of the book somewhat at times, and occasionally left me feeling disconnected from the story.

Katie Webster has created a wonderful world, filled with three dimensional characters, some of whom I loved, and others who creeped me out somewhat (yes, I’m looking at you Bear!). The different cultures that Lucy encounters on her mission to defeat Abigail make this book a fascinating read. Although I found The Invitation to be a relatively slow read, I get the feeling that it is building to something, and subsequent books will be a lot more action-packed. There is a lot of world for the reader and for Lucy to understand before she can complete her quest.

The quest itself really grabbed my attention, and left me wondering if Abigail was really the villain of the piece here, or whether it might be Lucy herself, or even whether they are simply two young girls being manipulated by power hungry men. There is still a lot to unravel from this series, and I think the remaining books could prove to be quite exciting.

If you like a slow burner with detailed and complex worldbuilding then you will love this book. If you prefer something faster paced this is perhaps not for you

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Katie Webster is an Australian lawyer, born in Queensland’s Daintree Rainforest. She has worked in both criminal and international law. She has published academically, but this is her debut novel.

Make sure you visit the other blogs taking part in this tour.

The Invitation BT Poster

Book Review, Uncategorized

The Summer of Taking Chances – Lynne Shelby

 

BLURB:

Would you take the second chance you’ve always dreamed of?

 It’s been ten years since Emma Stevens last laid eyes on Jake Murray. When he left the small seaside village of South Quay to chase the limelight, Emma’s dreams left with him.

Now Emma is content living a quiet and uneventful life in South Quay. It’s far from the life she imagined, but at least her job at the local hotel has helped heal her broken heart.

But when Jake returns home for the summer to escape the spotlight, Emma’s feelings quickly come flooding back. There’s clearly a connection between them, but Jake has damaged her heart once already – will she ever be able to give him a second chance?

PURCHASE LINKS:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

The SUMMER OF TAKING CHANCES_EBOOKB2 (1) (1)

REVIEW:

The Summer of Taking Chances is the kind of book that I would normally say is great for reading poolside, or on a tropical beach, with an ice cold cocktail in your hand. As that looks unlikely this year, you might just have to settle for a chair in your back garden and a glass or two of something fizzy – either way, this is definitely a book to be enjoyed al fresco. It is a lovely light read to relax with and escape the stresses of the real world for a little while.

Whilst Emma is warm and relatable, and Jake is as irresistible as every leading man should be, it was the supporting cast of characters that really grabbed my attention in this book. They took me right back to my own amateur dramatics days in my teens, with all the politics and back-biting going on, not to mention the speed at which any snippet of gossip could travel around the entire company. I think anyone who has ever been involved in a village club or society will spot elements of people they know within the ranks of the South Quay Players. The catalogue of disasters that befalls the Players did leave me wondering whether someone had perhaps invoked the name of the Scottish play!

All in all, The Summer of Taking Chances is an enjoyable, fun summer read.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

The Summer - Lynne Shelby Author PhotoLynne Shelby writes contemporary women’s fiction/romance. Her debut novel, French Kissing, was published when it won a national writing competition. She has worked at a variety of jobs from stable girl to child actors’ chaperone to legal administrator, but now writes full time. When not writing or reading, Lynne can usually be found at the theatre watching a musical, or exploring a foreign city – Paris, New York, Rome, Copenhagen, Seattle, Athens – writer’s notebook, camera and sketchbook in hand. She lives in London with her husband, and has three adult children who live nearby.

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Website

Don’t forget to visit the other blogs taking part in this tour.

The Summer of Taking Chances Full Tour Banner