Book Review

After The Rain – Natalia Gomes

I am delighted to be joining the blog tour for the beautiful After the Rain by Natalia Gomes. Many thanks to Natalia and to HQ for providing me with a copy of the book and inviting me to take part in the tour.

BLURB:

‘We’re alive. So let’s start living.’

Two strangers

Jack was sporty and outgoing. Alice was bookish and introverted. Their lives were on completely different paths.

One life-changing tragedy

That is before the day they were in the wrong place at the wrong time: before the day their lives were torn apart in a bombing.

A hopeful new friendship

Struggling to cope with their new worlds, their unlikely new friendship helps them find hope. But can they help each other rebuild their lives and start again?

Powerful and compelling After the Rain is the brand-new novel from Natália Gomes, perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.

PURCHASE LINKS:

Amazon UK

51WLg4+qd2L

REVIEW:

Sera Milano’s This Can Never Not Be Real, despite being a harrowing read, has been one of my favourite books so far this year, meaning that I approached After the Rain with a little trepidation, unsure if my heart could take what was to come. Where This Can Never Not Be Real deals with the horror of being in the midst of a terror attack, After the Rain looks at the devastating emotional and physical aftermath through the eyes of two teenagers who met just seconds before and whose lives are inextricably linked from then on. It is a beautiful book that somehow manages to be both heartbreaking and heartwarming.

Told in alternating chapters through the eyes of Alice and Jack, two teenagers who couldn’t be more different from each other, After the Rain is a deeply emotional book that I have not yet fully managed to move on from, despite having finished reading it a couple of days ago. In Jack, Natalia Gomes has created a character so full of life and energy, and she somehow manages to make clear in just a couple of paragraphs just how important running and the sense of freedom it gives are to Jack. In just the very short space of time I met him before the explosion, he felt so incredibly real to me, and my heart shattered with the thought of what I suspected was to follow. Similarly, introverted Alice with her love of books and constant search for the perfect reading spot was a character that I felt instantly connected to, meaning that watching her struggle in the aftermath felt like watching a friend, and I was rooting for her every step of the way.

Every page of this beautiful book moved me, and had me reaching for the tissues on more than one occasion, for reasons both happy and sad. Watching Alice and Jack’s friendship grow as they struggle to find their way back to “normal,” or at the very least to their individual new normal was lovely and devastating in equal measure.

After the Rain is a story of two people helping each other find their way back from horrific events. It is a heartbreaking and moving, and yet somehow uplifting read that I would thoroughly recommend to everyone.

To read more about this book, make sure you visit the other blogs taking part in the tour.

AfterTheRain_BTB

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s