Book Review

Shiver – Allie Reynolds

I have a chilling (quite literally – put on a jumper before reading this) thriller to share today in the form of Shiver by Allie Reynolds. Many thanks to Allie and Headline for my copy of the book, which I received via NetGalley.

BLURB:

They don’t know what I did. And I intend to keep it that way.

How far would you go to win? Hyper-competitive people, mind games and a dangerous natural environment combine to make the must-read thriller of the year. Fans of Lucy Foley and Lisa Jewell will be gripped by spectacular debut novel Shiver.

When Milla is invited to a reunion in the French Alps resort that saw the peak of her snowboarding career, she drops everything to go. While she would rather forget the events of that winter, the invitation comes from Curtis, the one person she can’t seem to let go.

The five friends haven’t seen each other for ten years, since the disappearance of the beautiful and enigmatic Saskia. But when an icebreaker game turns menacing, they realise they don’t know who has really gathered them there and how far they will go to find the truth.

In a deserted lodge high up a mountain, the secrets of the past are about to come to light. 

PURCHASE LINKS:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

55707640._SY475_

REVIEW:

I do enjoy a good psychological thriller, especially one where the characters are completely cut off from the rest of the world in some way or other with limited or no means of escape. Even better if the threat to their safety apparently comes from within. In Shiver, Allie Reynolds delivers on all these fronts and then some. The location, the isolation and the mysterious invitations to a reunion at a deserted ski resort gave me chills that had nothing to do with the weather (although as previously mentioned, just reading this book made me cold!).

I loved the dynamics between the characters in this book, both in the situation they currently find themselves in, and in the events of ten years ago which are slowly revealed throughout the split timeline of the story. Each and every character has a secret to hide, and something to feel guilty about, and with them not knowing who did or didn’t do things themselves, it makes for a very twisty read that I truly had no idea how it was going to end.

Shiver is the perfect winter’s read – although perhaps not if you are yourself tucked away at a remote ski resort. Maybe read it when you get home. If you are a fan of Lucy Foley, then you will thoroughly enjoy this book. It is a brilliant debut and makes me excited to read whatever Allie Reynolds writes next.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s