Book Review

The Smallest Man – Frances Quinn

I am reviewing a fantastic historical fiction book today, as I join the blog tour for The Smallest Man by Frances Quinn. Many thanks to Frances and Simon & Schuster for providing me with a copy of the book, and to Anne Cater at Random Things Tours for inviting me to join the blog tour.

BLURB:

The smallest man. The biggest heart. The mightiest story. A compelling story, perfect for fans of The Doll Factory and The Familiars.

Nat Davy longs to grow tall and strong and be like other boys, but at the age of ten, he’s confronted with the truth; he’s different, and the day when the stares and whispers stop is never going to come.

Narrowly escaping life in a freal show, he’s plucked from his family and presented as a gift to the new young queen of England – a human pet to add to her menagerie of dogs and monkeys. But when Nat realises she’s as lost and lonely as he is, the two misfits begin an unlikely friendship – one that takes him on an unforgettable journey, as England slides into the civil war that will tear it apart and ultimately lead the people to kill their king.

Inspired by a true story, and spanning two decades that changed England forever, The Smallest Man is narrated by an irrepressible hero with his own unique perspective on life. His story is about being different, but not letting it hold you back. About being brave enough to take a chance, even if the odds aren’t good. And about how, when everything else is falling apart, true friendship holds people together.

PURCHASE LINKS:

Bookshop.org

The Smallest Man Cover

REVIEW:

I have been lucky enough this year to read a number of books that I have found it hard to find the words to do justice to just how much I loved them. The Smallest Man by Frances Quinn is one such book.

It is impossible not to fall totally and utterly in love with Nat. The sadness that pervades his live, both because of  his stature and the fact that he was unwillingly separated from his family is heart-breaking. Although he often struggles with both of these facts, he is a wonderfully positive character who refuses to let his situation stop him from doing anything that he sets his mind to.

The Smallest Man is set during a particularly turbulent period of history, but one that I knew few of the details about. Reading this book has sparked my interest, especially in the young queen. Based in part on the life of Jeffrey Hudson, Queen Henrietta Maria’s dwarf, The Smallest Man is a fascinating tale, and I was interested to read which parts of the story actually happened to Jeffrey and which were entirely fictional. 

I would thoroughly recommend this book, not just to fans of historical fiction but to anyone who loves character driven books – Nat Davy is a man you just won’t be able to resist.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Frances Quinn Author picFrances Quinn read English at King’s College, Cambridge, and is a journalist and copywriter. She has written for magazines including Prima, Good Housekeeping, She, Woman’s Weekly, and Ideal Home. She lives in Brighton with her husband and two Tonkinese cats. The Smallest Man is her first novel. Follow her on Twitter @franquinn.

Don’t forget to visit the other blogs joining the tour for more on this fascinating book.

Smallest Man BT Poster

1 thought on “The Smallest Man – Frances Quinn”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s