Book Review

Vampires of Moscow – Caedis Knight

I have the great privilege today to be kicking off the blog tour for the first book in what promises to be a very exciting new fantasy series, Blood Web Chronicles by Caedis Knight. Many thanks to Caedis for providing me with a copy of the book. What better day is there than Halloween for me to introduce you all to the Vampires of Moscow!

BLURB:

Saskia de la Cruz is a Verity Witch – her only magic being that she can tell the truth from a lie.

As an investigative reporter for The Blood Web Chronicle, the biggest news outlet on the paranormal dark Blood Web, Saskia spends her days cracking twisted para cases hoping that someday, some case, will bring her closer to finding her missing sister.

In snowy Moscow drained corpses of illegal workers have begun to turn up, with hundreds more reported missing. When Saskia is sent on assignment to investigate an oligarch Vampire crime ring that might be behind the deaths, she plans to get in out of the city’s frozen grasp quickly…preferably with her neck intact.

But beautiful ballet dancer Konstantin Volkov and his wildcard brother Lukka complicate things. The vampire brothers have their own reasons for solving the string of murders, reasons that conflict with Saskia’s mission. Soon, Saskia finds herself enmeshed in the city’s glittering web of crime, passion, and violence, where truths and lies are one and the same.

With vibrant characters, page-turning suspense and steamy romance, this new series has been dubbed by early readers as “a fun crime-solving sexual adventure across Europe.”

Co-authored by two established fantasy authors Jacqueline Silvester and N.J Simmonds, and set across a christmassy Moscow, Vampires of Moscow is the first book in The Blood Web Chronicles series. Perfect for fans of Crescent City, True Blood and Veronica Mars. 

PURCHASE LINKS:

Vampires of Moscow, and the prequel novella, Sirens of Los Angeles are out in ebook now, and you can order your copies below.

Vampires of Moscow – Amazon US

Sirens of Los Angeles – Amazon US

Vampires of Moscow – Amazon UK

Sirens of Los Angeles – Amazon UK

The paperbacks of both books will be released on 13th November (come back then to find out my thoughts on Sirens of Los Angeles).

1Vampires in Moscow final

REVIEW:

Let’s kick this review off with a little disclaimer – I am a huge fan of N J Simmonds’ and Jacqueline Silvester’s books when they are writing individually, so when I heard that they were teaming up to write a whole series of books, well, to say I was a bit excited would be a major understatement. In fact, it’s pretty safe to say that Vampire of Moscow and Sirens of Los Angeles were among the books I was most looking forward to this year. No pressure there then ladies! Whenever a book is so hotly anticipated, I always feel a bit nervous going in because there is always so much potential for it not to live up to my (possibly unrealistic) expectations. But, I am pleased to say that Vampires of Moscow exceeded them all on so many levels. It is funny, and dramatic, and steamy, and many other adjectives! If this is an indicator for the rest of the series, then we have a lot of thrilling books and sexy paranormals to look forward to!

Blood Web Chronicles introduces a fascinating magic system with a hierarchy of witches dictated by their very specific skillsets. Saskia, our protagonist for the series, is a lowly Verity Witch – something which seemingly embarrasses her mother, but means she has the perfect talent for her job as an investigative reporter. In Saskia, we are presented with a fierce, passionate woman who knowingly hurls herself towards danger in the pursuit of a story, rather than unwittingly stumbling into it. This made a refreshing change from a lot of urban fantasy novels where you often find a female character in need of rescuing. She makes her fair share of mistakes, but on the whole manages to get herself out of sticky situations in ingenious ways.

The Volkov brothers are vampires for grown ups. Twilight this is most definitely not. These boys have a bite and they aren’t afraid to use it – for good and for bad. For cold-blooded killers, they are red hot! Hedonistic Lukka felt a bit brash for my tastes at first but I fell hard for brooding Konstantin from the very first encounter, although this may be partly because I had a sneaky peak at the author’s inspiration for each of these characters. Throw in the fact that he is a ballet dancer and I was 100% under his spell before I had read more than a few pages. I love the ballet and Swan Lake is one of my favourites. It would be a dream come true to see it at the Bolshoi, especially in a (very) private box. I am not sure any version that I saw would be quite like Saskia’s experience though!

If you like your vamps more Spike than Angel, more Northman than Cullen, then the Volkovs are the boys for you.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Caedis Knight (Jacqueline Silvester and N J Simmonds)Caedis Knight is the pen name of two established fantasy authors, Jacqueline Silvester and N J Simmonds.

Silvester began her career in screenwriting and lived all over the world before going on to pen her highly successful YA series, Wunderkids.

Spanish Londoner Simmonds’ background was originally in marketing before writing her fantasy series The Indigo Chronicles, along with various Manga stories and writing collaborations.

Together, they created Blood Web Chronicles – their first paranormal romance series set in Europe. Great friends and avid travellers, you can find them whizzing between one another’s homes in Germany and the Netherlands, or having Zoom calls to excitedly plot Saskia’s next humorous sexy adventure.

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Instagram

Facebook

Website

Twitter

Make sure you check out the fab blogs joining me on tour for this great book!

VAMPIRES OF MOSCOW blog tour

3 thoughts on “Vampires of Moscow – Caedis Knight”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s