Blog

New Books!

I can’t quite believe that we are in the final three months of 2020 already – a year that I was worried would never end has actually flown by pretty quickly! As we all know, this is the time of year when there is a flurry of new books being released, and I thought I would share just a few of the ones that I am most excited about with you all – it’s safe to say that these will all me making it onto my Christmas list year (unless of course I have already pre-ordered them!). Click on the titles for pre-order links.

Vampires of Moscow by Caedis Knight – Released 15th October

54788977._SY475_Now, this is a book that you will have heard me mention before, and will definitely hear me mention again because I am very excited about it! The prequel novella Sirens of Los Angeles also releases on the same day.

Saskia de la Cruz is a Verity Witch – her only magic being that she can tell the truth from a lie.

As an investigative reporter for The Blood Web Chronicle, the biggest news outlet on the paranormal dark Blood Web, Saskia spends her days cracking twisted para cases hoping that someday, some case, will bring her closer to finding her missing sister.

In snowy Moscow drained corpses of illegal workers have begun to turn up, with hundreds more reported missing. When Saskia is sent on assignment to investigate an oligarch Vampire crime ring that might be behind the deaths, she plans to get in out of the city’s frozen grasp quickly…preferably with her neck intact.

But beautiful ballet dancer Konstantin Volkov and his wildcard brother Lukka complicate things. The vampire brothers have their own reasons for solving the string of murders, reasons that conflict with Saskia’s mission. Soon, Saskia finds herself enmeshed in the city’s glittering web of crime, passion, and violence, where truths and lies are one and the same.

With vibrant characters, page-turning suspense and steamy romance, this new series has been dubbed by early readers as “a fun crime-solving sexual adventure across Europe.”

Co-authored by two established fantasy authors Jacqueline Silvester and N.J Simmonds, and set across a christmassy Moscow, Vampires of Moscow is the first book in The Blood Web Chronicles series. Perfect for fans of Crescent City, True Blood and Veronica Mars.

The Chocolate Box by Isabella May – Released 4th November

54973392._SY475_I am a huge fan of Isabella’s work, and always look forward to a new release from her (and not just because of her delectable covers!)

Ellie Sanchez wants revenge. Spurned during her school days at prestigious Monty’s academy when she was plain Eleanor Finch, and played second fiddle to her idol, Barnaby Westwood, and his show-off sister, Clementine, Ellie will stop at nothing to turn the tables now she’s all grown up. The siblings and their snubbing have been the catalyst for everything that’s gone wrong in her life, from parental neglect to her divorce.

When the Westwood travel merchandise company advertises for a new HR manager, Ellie decides her unique combo of karma and Law of Attraction has finally come good. And she’ll be bagging herself a cherry-on-the-cake, second, and richer, husband in the process – once Barnaby sees how much she’s changed, anyway.

Fast forward six months and he STILL doesn’t recognise her!

Fast forward six months and the company is in a financial mess.

Last Chance Saloon-style, Ellie coerces the siblings and their older sister, Brooke (the perpetual spanner in her works) to a rustic gîte in Normandy for a spot of team-building… over a very ‘special’ box of artisan chocolates.

Cue ALL the fireworks in the cocoa bean version of Jumanji…

The Lives of Saints by Leigh Bardugo – Released 6th October

54205369I adore Leigh Bardugo’s Grishaverse and I cannot wait to get my hands on this companion book and the beautiful illustrations that I know are waiting inside the covers.

Dive into the epic world of international bestselling author Leigh Bardugo with this beautifully illustrated replica of The Lives of Saints, the Istorii Sankt’ya, featuring tales of saints drawn from the beloved novels and beyond. Out of the pages of the Shadow and Bone trilogy, from the hands of Alina Starkov to yours, the Istorii Sankt’ya is a magical keepsake from the Grishaverse.

These tales include miracles and martyrdoms from familiar saints like Sankta Lizabeta of the Roses and Sankt Ilya in Chains, to the strange and obscure stories of Sankta Ursula, Sankta Maradi, and the Starless Saint.

This beautiful collection includes stunning full-colour illustrations of each story.

The Betrayals by Bridget Collins – Released 12th November

46159063._SX318_The Binding is right up there on my list of all time favourite books, so I have very high hopes for this one.

If everything in your life was based on a lie
Would you risk it all to tell the truth?

At Montverre, an exclusive academy tucked away in the mountains, the best and brightest are trained for excellence in the grand jeu: an arcane and mysterious contest. Léo Martin was once a student there, but lost his passion for the grand jeu following a violent tragedy. Now he returns in disgrace, exiled to his old place of learning with his political career in tatters.
 
Montverre has changed since he studied there, even allowing a woman, Claire Dryden, to serve in the grand jeu’s highest office of Magister Ludi. When Léo first sees Claire he senses an odd connection with her, though he’s sure they have never met before.
 
Both Léo and Claire have built their lives on lies.  And as the legendary Midsummer Game, the climax of the year, draws closer, secrets are whispering in the walls…

One August Night by Victoria Hislop – Released 29th October

54770859._SY475_The Island is my absolute favourite of all Victoria Hislop’s books, so a return to Spinalonga was always going to be high on my “must read” list. I might have to fight my mum for who gets to read this first though!

25th August 1957. The island of Spinalonga closes its leper colony. And a moment of violence has devastating consequences.

When time stops dead for Maria Petrakis and her sister, Anna, two families splinter apart and, for the people of Plaka, the closure of Spinalonga is forever coloured with tragedy.

In the aftermath, the question of how to resume life looms large. Stigma and scandal need to be confronted and somehow, for those impacted, a future built from the ruins of the past.

Number one bestselling author Victoria Hislop returns to the world and characters she created in The Island – the award-winning novel that remains one of the biggest selling reading group novels of the century. It is finally time to be reunited with Anna, Maria, Manolis and Andreas in the weeks leading up to the evacuation of the island… and beyond.

Really Saying Something by Sara Dallin & Keren Woodward – Released 29th October

55072415._SY475_I am probably showing my age a bit now, but I worshipped Banarama growing up, so this book makes my little teeny bopper heart sing (and it is currently working it’s way through their entire back catalogue!)

MUSIC, FAME AND A LIFELONG FRIENDSHIP.

Sara Dallin and Keren Woodward met in the school playground when they were four. They became international stars, first as a trio, then, for almost three decades, as a duo.

After finishing school, Sara studied journalism at the London College Of Fashion, while Keren worked at the BBC. They lived in the YWCA before moving into the semi-derelict former Sex Pistols rehearsal room and immersing themselves in Soho’s thriving club scene. A year later they teamed up with Siobhan Fahey to form Bananarama. A string of worldwide hits followed, including ‘Cruel Summer’, ‘I Heard a Rumour and ‘Venus’. In a male-dominated industry, they were determined to succeed on their own terms and inspired a generation with their music, DIY-style and trailblazing attitudes.

Narrated with humour and authenticity, and filled with never before seen photos Really Saying Something takes us from the early days to the world tours, to party games with George Michael, a close friendship with the Prodigy’s Keith Flint, hanging out with Andy Warhol in New York and a Guinness World Record for the most worldwide chart entries of any all-female group.

As well as the highs, Sara and Keren speak frankly bout the flip side side of fame, revealing their personal struggles and the challenges of juggling family life with a demanding professional schedule.

Really Saying Something is the story of two friends who continue to pursue their dreams their way – and have a great time doing it. It’s a celebration of determination and a lifelong friendship, with an unbeatable soundtrack.

There are so many other amazing sounding books being released between now and the end of the year, and these are just a few of the highlights. I would love to know what the books are that you are most excited for in the coming months.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s