Book Review

The Life We Almost Had – Amelia Henley

Get your tissues and a stack of chocolate ready, because today I am reviewing the emotional The Life We Almost Had by Amelia Henley. Many thanks to Amelia, and HQ, for providing me with a copy of the book which I received via NetGalley.

BLURB:

This is not a typical love story, but it’s our love story.

Anna wasn’t looking for love when Adam swept her off her feet but there was no denying their connection, and she believed they would be together forever.

Years later, cracks have appeared in their relationship. Anna is questioning whether their love can really be eternal when a cruel twist of fate delivers a crushing blow, and Anna and Adam are completely lost to one another. Now, Anna needs Adam more than ever, but the way back to him has life-changing consequences.

Is a second chance at first love really worth the sacrifice? Anna needs to decide and time is running out…

A beautiful and emotional love story that asks, how far would you go for a second chance at first love? Perfect for fans of The Man Who Didn’t Call and Miss You.

52695426._SY475_

REVIEW:

In case you didn’t already know, Amelia Henley also writes thrillers under the name Louise Jensen. As a big fan of Louise’s books, I was keen to check out her alter ego. The Life We Almost Had is about as different to these thrillers as it is possible to be, but it is just as captivating.

The instant connection between Adam and Anna was so perfect and beautiful, but knowing from the outset that somewhere something was going to go wrong meant I was reading with a sense of trepidation, my stomach full of butterflies.

Seeing how Adam viewed Anna in the early days of their relationship was a timely reminder that what we think of as our own flaws are seen from a completely different perspective by others, and are often considered our most endearing features.

The Life We Almost Had is a book that is so full of emotion that my heart actually hurt reading it. I don’t think I have cried so much at a book since reading Emma Cooper’s The Songs of Us.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s