Guest Posts

Life Lessons – J.E. Rowney

Today I am hosting J.E. Rowney as part of the blog tour for her medical drama, Life Lessons. Many thanks to Ms Rowney for taking the time to talk to me, and to Rachel Gilbey at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to be a part of the tour. Before I hand over to Ms Rowney, here is all the info you need about Life Lessons.

BLURB:

For fans of “Call the Midwife”, “Hard Pushed” or “This is Going to Hurt”.

Life Lessons is a new adult chick-lit medical drama, with splashes of clean romance.
Expect an unputdownable emotional page-turner that will take you deep into the life lessons of a student midwife.

Violet wants to be a midwife, but she has struggled with anxiety throughout her teenage years.

With her best friend Zoe at her side, she gets a place at University and starts training for her dream job.Can she overcome her fears and find the self-confidence to make it through her first year?

Will Zoe’s romance with their housemate spell dating disaster?

Book one of the Lessons of a Student Midwife series.

This book is a prequel to Ghosted, the bestselling novel.

PURCHASE LINKS:

Purchase Here

Life Lessons Cover

GUEST POST:

Now I will hand you over to J.E. Rowney to talk about why she wanted to write a book about a student midwife.

Although I have always written stories since as far back as I can remember, being a writer wasn’t my first choice of career. I thought it was something people did as a hobby. In the past it was far more difficult to have a book published. When I went to university I didn’t study English or Creative Writing, I trained as a midwife. I have returned and studied Creative Writing, but I have never forgotten my roots!

I worked as a midwife for ten years, and it as rewarding and fascinating a job as my character Violet imagines that it will be. There were ups and downs, of course. As Violet comes to realise, midwifery isn’t all about delivering babies and getting to cuddle them on the postnatal ward. Midwifery is hard work, physically and emotionally. That said, being a midwife is being part of a community. I wanted to share an insight into the midwife’s world with my readers.

When I think about the medical themed books that I have read, they have usually been thrillers or dramas, rather than the light, feelgood type of story that I have aimed to write with this book and the rest of the series.

I introduced Violet in my novel “Ghosted”, interspersing the chick-lit story with the medical fiction twists of Violet’s life. One of the phrases you hear repeatedly when you start out as a writer is “write what you know”, so it was only a matter of time before I wrote about a character who was a midwife.

I had a lot of positive feedback about “Ghosted” and requests for a sequel. I had never considered writing a follow-up before, but I started to think about how I could add to Violet’s story.  There are glimpses of her past in “Ghosted”, but exploring her time at university with her best friend Zoe felt like a wonderful opportunity. I planned to write three novellas, but when I began working on “Life Lessons” I realised that Violet’s story was going to be too interesting to keep it contained within  short books.

The characters of Violet and Zoe (and Luke, of course) are so much fun to work with. I hope that you will enjoy reading the “Lessons of a Student Midwife” series. Book one, “Life Lessons” is available now, and “Love Lessons”, the second in the series, is available for pre-order. The final book will be on sale later this year.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Life Lessons - jerowneyauthorphotoJ.E.Rowney spent several years in the cold Yorkshire hills, which brings the flavour of the moorland countryside into her work. She now lives in Dorset, and the sun and sea are slowly creeping in as influences.

“Charcoal”, her first novel, was published in 2012 to wide critical acclaim, and was a bestselling novel across the whole of Amazon within days of release.

Ms Rowney has recently been awarded the Dinesh Allirajah Writing Prize 2020.

Her third novel, “Ghosted”, was released in January 2020 and quickly also became a bestseller.

She spends lots of time writing in coffee shops, so if you see her, say hello.

Ms. Rowney says: “I always dreamed of being a writer, until I realised that I was. Then I started to write.”

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Website

Mailing List

Pinterest

Instagram

Twitter

Facebook

Why not check out the other blogs taking part in this tour for more information on this book.

Life Lessons Full Tour Banner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s