Book Review

The House Party – Mary Grand

Today is my stop on the blog tour for thriller novel, The House Party by Mary Grand. Many thanks to Mary for providing me a copy of the book and to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to be a part of the tour.

BLURB:

Someone is about to die… Someone is about to lie…

At the intimate house-warming party for her glorious ‘grand design’, Kathleen confides in her best friend Beth that she is terrified of one of their close friends, but daren’t reveal which one. The guests are a tight-knit group, but Kathleen is convinced one of them is dangerous.

The next day Kathleen’s body is found at the foot of a cliff and Beth must face the sickening truth that she may have been killed by one of their trusted friends. With little help from the police, Beth’s decides to seek answers.

All the friends have secrets they are desperate to hide, but only one of them is ready to kill to keep theirs safe…

The House Party is set on the Isle of Wight – insular,claustrophobic, and with nowhere to run. Mary Grand has written a heart-stopping novel of secretsbetrayal and desire, perfect for fans of Louise Candlish and Lucy Foley.

PURCHASE LINKS:

Amazon

thehouseparty

REVIEW:

When I saw the comparisons between this book and those of Lucy Foley, I knew I had to read it, and I wasn’t disappointed. The House Party has all the twists and turns and intrigue you could wish for in a mystery thriller, and I flew through reading it.

Another big draw for this book was its setting on the Isle of Wight. Living just a short hop over the water, I visited the Isle of Wight many times growing up and it was lovely to see so many familiar places included.

The House Party features a cast of incredibly complex characters, each with deeply hidden secrets, which some of them will go to extreme lengths to protect. At different times through the book, I believed each and every one of them would have been capable of murdering Kathleen.

Beth was a tricky character for me – there were times when I wanted to shake her and tell her to go the police with everything she was finding out, but most of the time, I could totally understand her almost obsessive need to uncover the truth herself, and I suspect I would have reacted in a similar fashion in her situation.

The House Party moves from a slow, simmering tension to fast paced action, keeping the reader permanently on their toes, not knowing who to trust, from start to finish.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

The House Party Mary Grand Author PhotoMary Grand is the author of five novels and writes gripping, page-turning suspense, with a dark and often murderous underside. She grew up in Wales, was for many years a teacher of deaf children and now lives on the Isle of Wight where her new novel, The House Party, which will be published by Boldwood in July 2020, is set.

 

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

BookBub

Website

Check out the other blogs taking part in the tour for more information.

The House Party Full Tour Banner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s