Book Review

The Book of Us – Andrea Michael

Today I am joining the blog tour for the women’s fiction novel, The Book of Us by Andrea Michael. Many thanks to Andrea for providing me with a copy of the book, and to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to be a part of the tour.

BLURB:

The Book of Us is a story of the complexity of forgiveness and the friendships that change our lives forever. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.

We’ve got some important things to talk about. It’s time.

Cass and Loll used to be inseparable. They met at university and they made sense, like two halves of a whole. They had planned their lives around each other, writing down their dreams in The Big Book of Our Life – the things they wanted to achieve, the places they’d go after they finished university. But then one night changed everything.

Seven years later, Loll receives a letter from her old friend. The coming year will be the year they both turn 30, but Loll might be making it to 30 alone. Cass has cancer. Loll had believed she would have her whole life to come to terms with Cass’ betrayal, but time is running out. Cass’ final wish is to complete The Big Book of Our Life, but has enough time passed to heal old wounds?

PURCHASE LINKS:

Amazon

Waterstones

The Book of Us cover

REVIEW:

As soon as I started reading The Book of Us, I was put in mind of the Bette Midler film, Beaches, with Cass so wild, so full of life, and sweet, gentle Lauren, content to remain on the edges of Cass’s spotlight. That comparison really should have prepared me for what was to come, but I carried on reading, never giving a thought to just how bumpy this particular ride was going to be.

After a truly terrible betrayal, and a six year separation, The Book of Us sees Cass and Lauren slowly finding their way back to each other following major upheavals in both their lives. For two very different women, this was never going to be easy, and the book swings from laughter to tears more than once as they rebuild their friendship from the ruins.

Reading about their adventures through Finland, Spain and Australia reignited my own wanderlust which I thought was long gone, and made me yearn for my own favourite spot in Spain, and all the people I will miss seeing this year. There is just so much life and passion in their travels, and the way Andrea Michaels captures everything, you can almost imagine you are right there with them.

The Book of Us is a heart-breaking, emotional rollercoaster of a book (complete with actual rollercoasters), and one that I recommend reading with a ready supply of tissues, wine and chocolate.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Andi-1202-2Andrea Michael writes books to explore complicated relationships. Having trained in using writing for therapy, she really believes in the magic of stories to change your life. Failing that, sparkling wine and obnoxious sing-a-longs also do the trick.

Andrea works in content marketing, and runs Writing for Wellbeing workshops. She lives in Hertfordshire with her fiancé and their crazy cat, and can be found reading in a comfy corner or digging something at the allotment.

You may also know her from her romantic comedies written as A L Michael.

Andrea is represented by Hayley Steed at Madeleine Milburn. The Book of Us is her thirteenth book. She’s hoping it’s lucky.

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

The Book Of Us Full Tour Banner

Make sure you pay a visit to the other blogs taking part in the tour for this emotional book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s