Book Review

The Thornhill Series – S.W. Ellenwood

I have a double bill of spy thrillers for you today with the first two books from S.W. Ellenwood’s Thornhill Series, The Janitor and the Spy, and The Dragon and the Lumberjack.

Thomas Thornhill - Janitor cover


Baby wipes are not the best at cleaning up blood or what happened to Thornhill in Amsterdam.

They told Thornhill it would be a simple spy mission that he was more than eager to take on, but of course, it wasn’t.

It didn’t take long after meeting the contact for Thornhill to question if he or anyone else connected to him was going to be able to make it out of Amsterdam alive. Passing strangers on the streets became potential hitmen and dinner with criminals became safe heavens as Thornhill seeks to find answers from an old man named Golay.


Amazon UK

Thomas Thornhill - DLcoverFINAL_Kindle_Cover_2


Thomas feared he played Jack too well…

The sequel to S. W. Ellenwood’s debut novel, The Janitor and the Spy, picks up six months after Thomas Thornhill’s nightmare mission in Amsterdam. On his own, he now goes under the alias of Jack Montferrand and seeks to gain entry into the oldest and most dangerous triad in Asia to find Them.

On the inside, he found the triad not as stable as he thought, forcing him to prove his trust and worth to them at every turn as new rivals sprout up. He plunges his hands deeper into the filth and the alias of Jack where he starts to wonder where Thomas ends and Jack begins.


Amazon UK


The Janitor and the Spy kicks off The Thornhill Series with an introduction to Thomas Thornhill and the super-secretive, uber-high tech agency, Glass.  The mission seems simple enough, but as with all good spy stories, it soon proves to be anything but, and you are thrown in to the action at full throttle. As Thomas tries to work out just who he can trust, and what the true story is, the action spirals to the thrilling conclusion that made me extremely glad that the second book was ready and waiting on my Kindle so I could dive straight in.

The Dragon and the Lumberjack takes you into the dark and complicated world of the Hong Kong triads, with their complex structures and tendency to offend easily. The action doesn’t let up in this book, as Thornhill begins his mission to find the people responsible for what went on in book one (sorry to be vague, but I want to keep this a spoiler free zone!)

I would say that the books are perhaps not for the squeamish with their high levels of bloodshed and quotas of bodies, but if non-stop action is your thing, then these are the books for you. That said, in amongst all the thrills and spills, Ellenwood takes the time to create very human characters that you can’t help but become invested in, and find yourself rooting for, even sometimes if you aren’t entirely sure whose side they are on.

The Thornhill Series is a tale of old school Cold War style espionage for the modern era, and I can’t wait to read the rest of the books.


Thomas Thornhill - 7191806_orig

S. W. Ellenwood is thankful to have a close-knit family of two parents, a brother, and two sisters. A homeschooler who graduated college from the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith, Ellenwood loves all forms and genres of stories and was inspired by  The Lord of the Rings films and his parents to write. You can find Ellenwood writing his next novel at the local coffee shops or playing table top games with his best friends.




Many thanks to S.W. Ellenwood and to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to take part in this blog tour and for providing me with a copy of both books. Make sure you have a look at the other blogs taking part in the tour.

Thomas Thornhill 1 and 2 Full Tour Banner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s