Guest Posts

Switching Off – Guest Post

Tissues at the ready folks, I have a real tear-jerker for you today.

BLURB:

๐—” ๐˜๐—ฒ๐—ฟ๐—บ๐—ถ๐—ป๐—ฎ๐—น ๐—ฑ๐—ถ๐—ฎ๐—ด๐—ป๐—ผ๐˜€๐—ถ๐˜€. ๐—” ๐—น๐—ถ๐—ณ๐—ฒ-๐˜€๐—ฎ๐˜ƒ๐—ถ๐—ป๐—ด ๐˜€๐—ฎ๐—ฐ๐—ฟ๐—ถ๐—ณ๐—ถ๐—ฐ๐—ฒ. ๐—” ๐—น๐—ผ๐˜ƒ๐—ฒ ๐—น๐—ฒ๐˜๐˜๐—ฒ๐—ฟ ๐˜„๐—ฟ๐—ถ๐˜๐˜๐—ฒ๐—ป ๐—ผ๐—ป ๐˜๐—ต๐—ฒ ๐˜„๐—ฎ๐—น๐—น๐˜€ ๐—ผ๐—ณ ๐—ต๐—ฒ๐—ฟ ๐—ต๐—ฒ๐—ฎ๐—ฟ๐˜.

Alice Richards looked forward to watching the seeds of love she and her husband planted bloom and grow well into their old age. But her plans for the future shrivel up and die when she learns she has an inoperable brain tumour.

Determined that she wonโ€™t die in vain, she decides to become an organ donor. With a few precious months left, Alice begins documenting her fairytale romanceโ€”from their first meeting to the children they dreamed of having. Sheโ€™ll pass on every detail to her heartโ€™s next ownerโ€ฆ along with careful instructions to send her husband reminders of her undying love. Before her time runs out, Alice must find the perfect candidate to guide her husband through unimaginable grief and hold the memory of their love in her heart.

I Give You My Heart is an emotional romantic fiction novel with an uplifting message. If you like strong-willed women, undying love stories, and honest portrayals of coping with a terminal illness, then youโ€™ll love SarahJane Fordโ€™s heart-warming epic.

An unmissable love story full of warmth, beauty and with a huge, beating heart. Perfect for fans of Cecilia Ahernโ€™s โ€˜P.S. I Love Youโ€™ and Jojo Moyesโ€™ โ€˜Me Before Youโ€™.

You can purchase I Give You My Heart on Amazon,ย here.

I Give You My Heart Cover

I will be sharing a review of this book later in the year, but in the meantime I am thrilled that SarahJane has taken some time out of her busy schedule to share with us how she unwinds from writing such an emotional book.

Switching offโ€ฆoh how I wish I had that all figured out. Writing about such emotional subjects as there are in I Give You My Heart โ€“ terminal illness; death; losing the love of your life/best friend/daughter; organ donation; the list goes on โ€“ does settle a heaviness on your shoulders that takes some shifting.

During the writing period itself I never did fully switch off โ€“ I think thatโ€™s what drives the intensity of emotional charge in the book. It was hard on my family and friends โ€“ itโ€™s not that I ignored their door knocks and phone calls, itโ€™s that I didnโ€™t even hear them. Iโ€™ve found myself true to some of those age-old writer clichรฉs โ€“ I had to get the story out and told, there was no turning it off in my mind until it was done, it burned away. There were some periods where the story settled a little and during those times I was back to my sunshine-y self but during the deep, powerful stages of the book the people around me learned the only welcome approach was one that involved coffee or chocolate.

The whole period was very draining, though, so I did have to come up with strategies to recharge my batteries. I kept, and still keep, a lot of things up my sleeve for this. I love coffee and candles so Iโ€™ll often find peace and stillness in the time it takes to boil the kettle and strike a match โ€“ just lighting twinkling flames all around me and cradling a big mug of coffee while I give my thoughts attention gives me a ten-minute soothe fest.

Iโ€™m quite ritualistic in that I need to build a whole switch-off time plan into every day to get the best out of myself. I try and get out for a quiet, steady run most weekday mornings which sets my mood up right for the day ahead โ€“ I use it as a thought-organising session and a physical tension/angst releaser. I have a diffuser I like to set up to puff out lavender for me each evening to help me get the best nightโ€™s sleep. Iโ€™m very strict with no screens for an hour before lights out and, of course, my ultimate switch off to ease me into and out of each day is burying my nose in a book. Itโ€™s all the little things strung together that keep me sane.

In a bigger sense I love nothing more than having a complete โ€˜away from it allโ€™ afternoon/day when life gets very intense โ€“ Iโ€™m an ocean addict so thatโ€™s usually what pulls me โ€“ sand, waves, seashells, surfboard if Iโ€™m feeling energeticโ€ฆah.

Iโ€™m by no means a serene goddess of calm though, I can assure you! So, if any of you readers have any tips for this over-thinking introvert please do let me know โ€“ you can reach my on my Facebook page www.facebook.com/sarahjanefordauthor/, on twitter @sjfordauthor or via the contact form on my website www.sarahjaneford.com.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

author-photo-1

SarahJane is the debut author of โ€˜I Give You My Heartโ€™ which is due to be published on September 1st 2018.

SarahJane was born in Scotland but grew up in the Cheshire countryside, which is home to her. After a few years living in Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire, where she went to secondary school, she has now settled back in Cheshire in a quirky flat surrounded by trees, birds and rolling fields.

A marketing professional since finishing her formal education SarahJane is delighted to be following her writing dream. She still works part-time as a Marketing Manager, whilst furiously penning her second novel.

Harbouring an adventurous spirit, SarahJane loves to travel, be surrounded by the wilderness or be riding Cornish waves.

SarahJane loves to read (ideally by the sea!). She was raised on the greatest love stories, which is where her romantic soul comes from. She is in love with love…Mr Darcy’s brooding looks in Pride and Prejudice; Julia Roberts and Richard Gere’s arresting chemistry in Runaway Bride; the intensely emotional Titanic; going weak at the knees for Danny Zuko in Grease; Cecilia Ahern’s heartbreaking P.S. I Love You and Patrick Swayze’s mega moves in Dirty Dancing.

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Facebook

Website

Twitter

GIVEAWAY:

Win a signed hardback of I Give You My Heart with a personalised message (UK Only)

*Terms and Conditionsย โ€“UK entries welcome.ย  Please enter using the Rafflecopter link below.ย  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.ย  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winnersโ€™ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.ย ย I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494128/?

Many thanks to SarahJane and to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to take part in the blog tour and for providing me with a copy of the book. Don’t forget to head over to the other stops on the tour.

I Give You My Heart Full Banner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s