Book Review

Forgive Me Not – Samantha Tonge

Hopefully all of you saw the big reveal of the beautiful cover for this book a couple of weeks back. Well, publication day is finally here!!!! Here is a quick reminder of the blurb, as well as some links for where you can purchase your very own copy.

Forgive Me Not 2

BLURB:

How far would you go to make amends?

When Emma fled her home at Foxglove Farm, she’d let down and hurt those who cared for her most. But now, two years later, she’s ready to face up to her past; she’s ready to go back.

But Emma’s unannounced return causes more problems than she could have foreseen. The people she knew and loved aren’t ready to forget, let alone forgive. And the one person she wants to reconnect with the most, her mother, can’t remember who she is.

Just as Emma starts to rebuild trust, an uncovered family secret and a shocking past crime threaten her newly forged future…

Sometimes simply saying sorry isn’t enough.

Perfect for readers of Ruth Hogan or Amanda Prowse, this is an extraordinary and unforgettable novel about running away from yourself – and finding a way back.

REVIEW:

Where do I start! This book is just fantastic. Dealing as it does with a number of incredibly sensitive subjects, there was always the chance that things could go very dark, very quickly. However, Samantha’s delicate handling of each and every one of these topics made the book thought provoking, but never depressing.

The flashbacks to Emma’s time living on the streets provide a stark reminder that the homeless people around us are human too. Whatever their current situation, they once had homes, jobs, and people that loved them, and they are certainly not all there because of some wrong doing. I had a particular fondness for Stig and his beloved Duchess. Getting to know this character just shows how close any one of us is to ending up on the streets, a warning that is echoed by the struggles of the village owners fighting back against the rise of the huge supermarkets.

As someone with experience of a relative with dementia, I found that Emma’s struggle to reconnect with her mother heart-breaking, but at the same time Samantha’s description of their interactions were incredibly touching.

Above all, this book serves as a resounding reminder to just be kind to the people you meet. Everyone has their own story, their own struggles, which are not detectable by the naked eye.

On a final note, and without wanting to give anything away, brace yourself for the ending!

Purchase Links

This fantastic book is available from these sellers:

Amazon

Kobo

Google

iBooks

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Sam Tonge - Canelo Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.

When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.

In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

Links

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor

Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

Many thanks to Samantha Tonge, everyone at Canelo, and Rachel Gilbey from Rachel’s Random Resources for enabling me to take part in today’s publication day events, and for providing me with a copy of the book.

Forgive Me Not Header 2

2 thoughts on “Forgive Me Not – Samantha Tonge”

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I love the cover and it drew me in but didn’t know what the book was about until I decided to read your post. X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s